Sunday Review: Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

June 23, 2013

Hello, friends!  I know it’s been a few weeks since I’ve done a Sunday review, so sorry, I have been super busy!  Luckily, that hasn’t stopped me from reading every night; so, today I have an entire series to bring to you, starting with the first (and arguably my favorite) book of the Lady Julia Grey seriesSilent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn.


Now, let me preface this review with a quick disclaimer: these books are definitely not going to be for everyone, but they happen to be part of my two favorite genres – regency romance and murder mystery!  I absolutely love reading mysteries, tracking clues and suspects along with the main character, and this particular novel, being set in Victorian England with more than a touch of romance thrown into the plot, became a quick favorite of mine.

The series stars Lady Julia Grey, a recent widow who delves into the mystery surrounding her husband’s untimely death with the fearless determination of a worthy leading lady.  Her counterpart is the devilishly handsome and brooding professional enquiry agent Mr. Brisbane.  Sparks fly and tension mounts as these two close in on the murderer of Lady Julia’s deceased husband.  If you are having any doubts so far about this fun and engaging read, just take a look at the very first line of the book: “To say that I met Nicholas Brisbane over my husband’s dead body is not entirely accurate. Edward, it should be noted, was still twitching on the floor.”

Thus starts an entire series with Lady Julia and Mr. Brisbane that will keep you captivated and constantly flipping pages, attempting to keep up with the amateur sleuth and private detective.  I have read the first four books in the series (and I am eagerly awaiting the fifth) and they have kept me guessing through every mystery that they encounter.  Deanna Raybourn expertly weaves plot twists and romantic entanglements that keep my up at night, reading until long after I should have switched off my light and gone to sleep.  The characters are interesting, including the large cast of supporting players from Brisbane’s right-hand man to Julia’s huge (and meddling) family.

I highly recommend this series if you are a fan of either regency romance or classic mysteries and I promise you won’t be able to stop after the first book.  The other titles in the series include Silent in the Sanctuary, a mystery that takes place at the family’s ancient and crumbling Gothic estate, Silent on the Moor, where Brisbane attempts to distance himself from Julia only to be thrown together on the dark, frightening moors of Northern England, Dark Road to Darjeeling, in which Julia and Nicholas travel to India together, and The Dark Enquiry (which I have not yet read), but this time the couple are back in England to solve yet another complex mystery.  There’s also a Christmas-themed novella, Silent Night, to keep the story going just a little longer.


I cannot say enough good things about these witty, well-crafted books which feature the spirited Lady Julia and the oh-so handsome Nicholas Brisbane.  The romance is superbly written, the mysteries are properly mysterious and Deanna Raybourn always finds a way to keep me coming back for more!

I hope you have a great week, thanks for reading :)


Previous Post Next Post

You may also like